The Jay Shaw Scholarship was established to provide scholarships to assist students pursuing a career in healthcare. The scholarship honors the late Georgia State Representative Jay Shaw's dedication and commitment to quality local health care. $1,000 is awarded each semester (not to exceed $2,000 per year). Donations from friends, colleagues, and family all over Georgia make this scholarship possible.

Honoring the late Georgia State Representative Jay Shaw


James Slaton “Jay” Shaw was born in Lakeland, Georgia
Lifetime resident of Lanier County
Attended Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College in Tifton
Served as Georgia Transportation Board with Georgia DOT
Served as Mayor of Lakeland for 10 years
Served in the General Assembly representing State House District 176 for 18 years


Applicants must:
Be a Lanier County High School graduate with a GPA of 3.0 or higher
Have an interest in the healthcare industry
Be attending a post-secondary institution in the State of Georgia


Download the Jay Shaw Scholarship Fund Application for more information about the application process and submission/notification information.

Download the Application


Use this link to email or mail: SGMC Foundation, PO Box 1727, Valdosta, GA 31603

Email Your Submission


2021 Winners: Ashton Abbott & Jenna Shaw
2020 Winners: Meredith Burton and Kaytlin Fountain
2019 Winners: Grace Farr and Hannah Webrand
2018 Winners: Shayla Riley-Dorsey and James Pike
2017 Winner: Caitlyn Wallace
2016 Winner: Teighlor Livingston



To support the Jay Shaw Scholarship Fund complete the below form or mail donations to SGMC Foundation, PO Box 1727, Valdosta, GA 31603 (make check payable to SGMC Foundation).